No Earphone Jack in the New iPhones

screen-shot-2016-09-24-at-9-45-23-am

You recognize the picture above as the bottom edge of your iPhone. Way over on the left is the place where you connect your earphones. But say goodbye to that spot ….. it’s gone in the newest model.

The rumor has been around for a long time. And now that rumor is confirmed. The newest iPhone (the 7) will be released with NO earphone jack. The iPhone 7 will be earphone-jack-less.

Huh? I am an earphone jack user. When I walk for exercise, I am connected to my iPhone with my earphones. I have not gone wireless (outside of the house) …. I still connect the old fashioned way.

Although I will not be getting the iPhone 7 (my 6 plus is a wonderful phone), and so I personally don’t have to fret about the change …… it did make me wonder about the whole switch to no-jack. What? How?

I realize that many folks connect to their phone through a wireless connection (bluetooth). So for them, this is a non-issue. But what to do for those of us who still go the “wired” route?

If you are getting the new iPhone, you should know that you will be getting new earphones packed with your phone. These will plug into your iPhone, but in a new connecting spot. You will plug these earphones into the CHARGING port of your phone. Obviously the connector end of these new earphones is specially made to fit into that spot.

Happily, you have another thing packaged with your new iPhone, and that is an ADAPTOR for your old earphones. If you have a set of earphones that are dear to you, you can still use them by plugging into the adaptor, and then plugging the adaptor into the charging port.

So it’s really ok…. but this is a change that will require you to bring that little adaptor with you for plugging in your favorite earphones.

And don’t lose it. A new one will cost you $9.00. 😯

screen-shot-2016-09-24-at-2-57-16-pm

Screen Shot 2015-09-02 at 10.17.31 AM

21 thoughts on “No Earphone Jack in the New iPhones

  1. Thank you for this useful bit of news. We’ve all head that there was no headphone/earbud jack in the new 7, but no one else that I’ve read mentioned the adapter. I don’t want to give up my old-but-terrific Bose noise-cancelling headphones. Good to know I won’t have to, should I decide to upgrade.

    • An adapter was the first thing I thought about …. so I drilled down on Apple’s website and looked for the “included in the box” stuff. And there it is …. adaptor!
      Whew. Let me know if you decide to upgrade. I’ll pass on this one, since my 6 plus is doing just fine. Good to hear from you! 🙂

      • And it’s good to hear from you blog again. I wasn’t sure about upgrading to IOS 10 and wished you’d blogged about it. I finally took the plunge (late adopter to see if there was bad news in the press). It was a bit surprising. I finally figured out the new messaging, but that was frustrating at first. Maybe I should have read a review.

        • I’m just a great big chicken when it comes to updating the OS. I tend to lag behind and let the bugs sort themselves out. I’ll admit both my notebook computer and my phone are way out of date. Something I should tend to, I know. If it were up to me, the “new” OS should simply come with your new device, and need nothing in between. Congrats on doing your update. You’re WAY ahead of me!

  2. Wired, wireless, blah, blah, blah. This information didn’t touch me, because although I am hoping to upgrade to the 7 soon, I am not a headphone user at all! It’s weird, but I can’t stand them in my ears!

    • Funny you should say that. I really don’t care for them, either, except when I need them…. like walking, or on a plane. Then I forget about the discomfort and crank up the noise (although it’s usually a podcast or an audio book!)

  3. I’m still happy with my ‘5’!!!!! But thanks for all the info. As said above, I hadn’t heard the details about it! I always know I can count on you for the most up to date info!!!!! ;-D

    • Have you noticed how absent I’ve been from this blog? You can take some credit for that. 🙂 My new “tech” is my Janome machine and it’s taking all my time …..what fun!! I just drool over the stuff you make. I’ll keep practicing and hope that some day I can produce something (nearly) as beautiful as you do!

  4. I’m not fond of keeping track of more tech paraphernalia. I also won’t be updating anytime soon. However, I’ve been told a long time ago by an audiophile that the audio that comes out of the charger port is higher quality. I am pleased however for that adapter as I have an iPod 5 where a piece of the earplugs hardware is jammed, which solves that issue rather cheap, as I never wanted to spend money on a stereo Bluetooth headset.

  5. Al says:

    That adaptor makes all the difference. No one anywhere has mentioned that. Not that I will be getting a 7 anyway, I am very happy with my Galaxy Note 3.

    • Good for you! Both of my sons have Samsung phones, and love them. Next time I’m in the market for a phone, I’d like to consider another, BUT, the closed Apple system has me deeply committed with my phone, iPad and Macbook. So I’ll probably keep working my way through the iPhones….. 🙂

  6. Thanks for the info about the adapter! I am still happy with my 6 and in no hurry to upgrade. Maybe in 2017. I looked at the new 7 and didn’t think it was all that cool looking but I guess that isn’t what it is all about… 😀 I just slap a case on it anyway. Those headphones are always a tangled up mess for me so adapters would be more to wrangle with. I don’t even know if I have upgraded to IOS 10!
    Good Morning!

I'd love to hear what you think!

