Ask Siri to Open your Apps

Screen Shot 2014-01-05 at 7.16.14 PM
When I first got my iPhone (and then my iPad), I learned about the ‘search’ feature, and thought it was extremely silly and unnecessary. After all, I thought, all you have to do is just glance over your apps and touch the one you want to open. How hard is that?

Well, fast forward several years, and my devices are now LOADED with apps, folders full of apps and pages full of folders. I’ll admit that I’ve used the search feature many times to find a particular app that was hiding deep in some folder.

(if you need a refresher on how to search your device, just click here.)

But now I’ve found an even easier way to open an app that I can’t find……

I just ask Siri to do it! Easy, breezy.

Just ask her: “Open ‘name of app‘”. The device will close the black Siri screen, briefly flash a page of apps, and then open the particular app that you asked for. Like magic. πŸ™‚

Try it!

Ask Siri to “Open Pandora” or “Open Words with Friends” or whatever other app you’d like to try.

Thank you, Siri. I’ll never have to hunt for anything on my iPhone or iPad, again. From Millan.Net

Screen shot 2013-09-09 at 9.35.25 PM

18 thoughts on “Ask Siri to Open your Apps

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great tip…My husband is just starting to use my ipad mini to read and he was having trouble using the buttons to open kindle…..This tip has fixed that!!!! Thanks

    • Ah…. you have pointed out the biggest problem. When I was practicing, I thought “I’ll have it open that card game that I do …. ” but for the life of me I could not think of what it was called!!! Kind of makes the whole “ask Siri” thing worthless, then, huh. Yes … the wonders of aging…. πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear what you think!

