Zen in the Morning: Progressive Alarm Clock

I do not enjoy walking up to an alarm. There is something just so horribly jarring about “sudden” noise when you are sleeping. I don’t think nature intended us to wake up this way, but (of course) we have to wake up when it’s time to wake up.

Alarm apps abound, and over the years I have downloaded several. (Well, to be honest, more than several 🙂 )

Of them all, the Progressive Alarm Clock always rises to the top of my most-used alarms.

It has been completely reliable, and has never, ever let me down.

It provides a gentle, peaceful way to gradually wake up in the morning, using the chime sounds of Tibetan Singing Bowls.

You can choose between 6 different chimes, and it is easy to sample all 6 to make your choice.

There are a variety of options, so you can tweak it to your personal preference.

I have set a deep bell on my alarm. When morning comes, it starts to chime very softly…… so softly at first, that it is barely audible.

Then, every 10 seconds, it chimes again. Just a little louder, then a little louder again. A peaceful, gentle wake up.

Progressive Alarm Clock by Spotlight Six Software is $1.99 in the iTunes store.

27 thoughts on “Zen in the Morning: Progressive Alarm Clock

    • You’re very welcome. I remember searching for an alarm clock that did this years before all this new technology. I eventually found one, but it was too expensive to purchase. So when I saw this in the app store, I was delighted! Cost less than the tax would have been on the physical model! 🙂

    • I am not a great sleeper, but it always seems that when I HAVE to wake up, that is exactly when I am having my best sleep. This helps make it not quite so painful. 🙂

  1. This must be the app my teen-aged son has and when he is away – he forgets to shut it off – I can’t figure it out so I close his door and stuff the bottom with pillows! grin.

  2. My grandchildren live with me and all their lives, twins 15 and eldest 18, they have been very hard to wake up for school. When the eldest went off to college I really worried she would not get up for her classes. Over the last couple of years since they received new iphones I have not had any problems waking them up. I thought it was because I stopped trying but soon found out they were using an app that constantly reminded them to get up. Thank God for that. I hope your blog will help others who need a soft wake up. Thanks for sharing.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  3. I totally agree, and my new phone came with a brilliant alarm that gently wakes one from bliss to more bliss in the form of music which gently gathers momentum to peak in an alarm..
    Thank you for sharing.. 🙂 Sue

    • That’s wonderful! A far cry from the alarm clock of old. Remember the cartoon version with the big face and the two bells on top? Yikes. What an awful way to wake up. 🙂 We have it sooooo much better.

  4. Gina's Professions for PEACE says:

    Thank you for another excellent post! I feel it is important to wake in a nice, or blissful state, and items like these can truly help. With much gratitude, Gina

  5. Just had a bright idea, I practice a bit of yoga at home, and set my phone clock as an alarm type thing for when I want to finish meditation and the like and this alarm would be so much nicer and better! I’m off to check it out, thank you 🙂

    • That’s a great idea. I hope it works for you! I’m afraid that I have so many apps, I admit to having meditation timers and yoga timers as well (when one would probably do the trick!)

I'd love to hear what you think!