How to Lock the View Mode in your Kindle App on your iPhone

Screen shot 2013-03-11 at 5.06.49 PMIt is so wonderfully handy to be able to pick up my iPhone and read. So many times, I find myself waiting (unexpectedly) and it is less painful when I can whip out the iPhone and read the time away. With the Kindle app, it automatically puts me on the page where I left off the night before on my regular Kindle.

You can view the text of your book in either portrait or in landscape mode, merely by rotating your iPhone.

Photo Skitch Document-3

Photo Skitch Document-4

The tricky part comes when you recline or find yourself turning in some way. The text bounces back and forth. Landscape, portrait. Portrait, landscape.

It is easy to LOCK the screen so the text does not shift.

Here is how you lock the screen on your iPhone:

Hold the phone in the manner that you would like to read.

Then tap on the lower right corner of the screen. This can be on any page in your book. You won’t SEE a lock, but tap anyway … and….

Poof! A lock appears. Tap on that lock icon to lock or unlock your favorite view mode.

Photo Skitch Document-5

Photo Skitch Document-6

18 thoughts on “How to Lock the View Mode in your Kindle App on your iPhone

  1. I have learned sooo much from reading your posts, that my grandchildren have new respect for me. I am becoming tech savy because of you!

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

    • Ah … you caught that, huh? When I realized I had to ‘capture’ a page to demonstrate, I thought I’d use a classic (giving my readers the impression that I am reading wondrous works like this). I’m not, but it’s nice to know I could. 🙂 But you, my dear, caught me in my deception. 🙂

I'd love to hear what you think!