A “How to” and a “How do”: Arranging Your Icons (part of the) Very Beginner Series

*Occasional posts will contain how-tos and/or hints for VERY new users of iPads, iPhones or Kindles. All new users welcome! Non-tech speak, not terribly detailed, just basic device-enhancing goodness. All part of this Very Beginner Series. Please share with any beginners (Mom? Dad? Grandma?) in your life.*

photo credit: {Flixelpix} David via photo pin cc

The “How To”: If you are new to the iPhone or iPad, you’ll want to move your icons, and place them in ways that are just right for you.

This is easy to do. Just put your finger on an icon and hold it there for a few seconds. It will start to wiggle. Keeping your finger ON the icon, slide your finger and the icon will come with you.

When you remove your finger, the icon will stay where you left it.

(When the icons start wiggling, you will also see an “x” on the corner. Don’t touch that … it will delete the app from your device.)

If you would like to make another page of icons, when it wiggles under your finger just pull the icon all the way over to the right, you will pop over to the next page.

Once you are done positioning the icons where you would like them, you stop the wiggling by tapping on the home button.

That’s the “How To”
and this brings us to our “How Do”:

How do you arrange your icons? Or maybe you don’t?

My husband is a don’t. The icons on his devices look to me like a mish-mashed mess with no rhyme or reason. That is because they are a mish-mashed mess with no rhyme or reason. 🙂 But he likes it that way. He says he just “knows” where they are.

But me? I’m a person who needs order. So I made myself a little system of categories:

Page One is my most used apps.
Page Two are my things to read (Kindle app, news apps, etc).
Page Three are my things to watch (Netflix, ABC, videos, YouTube, etc).
Page Four are reference apps.
Page Five (and Six) are games.
Page Seven contains my Zen-type apps (more on these, later).
Page Eight is dedicated to Health and Wellness.
Page Nine to Art and Music.

I wonder how other people arrange (or don’t) their icons. Am I alone in trying to make some order out of my rapidly multiplying apps?

9 thoughts on “A “How to” and a “How do”: Arranging Your Icons (part of the) Very Beginner Series

  1. I’m waiting to get an iPad until end of the year. I’m debating if I want to go with the regular iPad or wait and see how these mini (and less expensive) iPads look when they are released. Either way, I’m bookmarking this post for later.

    • I think the minis are going to be VERY popular. I wrote a post about it, here. Most recently they are saying that the screen will be a bit larger than the fire, but the device will be very very thin. Exciting!

  2. great bundle of information..

    it would b of gr8 help if u could provide some tips for smart phones too, coz i use a galaxy note (GT N7000) experimenting &learning each day,,

    thanks

    rose

    • Thank you for the follow and for taking the time to leave a comment! Many of the things I talk about will be specific to iPhones, however …. most of the apps, etc are also available for other devices, like yours. So there is good crossover information, as well. Thanks again for joining us. Welcome! 🙂

  3. On my iPod Touch I arrange my apps into folders. My first folder is for my Facebook, Netflix, Youtube and other apps I use the most. My second folder is for games. On my second page I have a folder for my utilities and one for my settings and stuff.

I'd love to hear what you think!